Monday Aftermath #1: A Re-Retread

Monday, September 25, 2006

I can’t help it. It’s bad form, I know, but I’m enamoured of the sound of my own typing, and it’s so easy to talk about, and it’s a good excuse for starting another series every Monday. I’m going to wax rhapsodically on, wax off about my mind-clearing exercise on Friday, in a manner reminiscent of the old saw about sausage factories.

A Navel-Centric Examination of Friday Fiascos #1: A Retread
I enjoyed the process of writing this more than I enjoy the result, which I find to be more tin-eared than I had thought at the time.

I liked, and still like, the rhyme “chivvy us / oblivious,” but I doubt severely that I pulled it off as deftly as I’d hoped. (It sounds forced, which was exactly how I didn’t want it to sound.)

“Knowledge / College” is so hackneyed that it clearly demonstrates one of my particular failings, viz. not knowing how to end and running out of steam (it helps that the beginnings of my verses are typically written around midnight, while the ends are typically written at about 5 or 6 ack-emma).

I cannot think of a title, which is par for the course.

I’m content, though not happy, with this, and I’d grudgingly give it a B-/C+.

Leave a Reply

