Basic Football Statistics for Cowboys Fans

Tuesday, October 10, 2006

Today: Anatomy of the Win-Loss Record.

The win-loss record usually takes the form of


where X and Y are integers between 1 and 16.

The Dallas Cowboys’ win-loss record is calculated as follows:

X is the number of games the Cowboys have won this season.

Y is the number of weeks, not including bye weeks, during which Cowboys fans demand Drew Bledsoe’s head.

Occasionally, though rarely, the win-loss record takes the form


sometimes known as the win-loss-tie record.

Here, Z represents the number of games in which Mike Vanderjagt misses at least two game-winning field goals.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s