The Importance of Being Thimmashetty

Thursday, October 19, 2006

or, Channelling my inner Chris “If Hitler had a speech defect that caused him to pronounce soft G sounds as Bs, he’d call himself a” Berman.
My most recent disappointment has been this:

I knew a guy whom I’ll refer to as Ramesh. Now, for the longest time, I thought his name was Ramesh Thimmashetty, and so in my mind I’d given him a nickname that was, although completely incongruous with his personality or appearance, absolutely perfect: Ramesh “The Machete” Thimmashetty.

And one of my biggest regrets was that I never had the guts to call him “The Machete.” Every time I called him Ramesh, I felt a little guilty for not unleashing the greatest nickname in the history of civilized man.

Then the other day I found out his name was really Ramesh Patel.

Now I’m a little relieved that I never broke out the nickname, but I can’t help but feel a little sad.

Poor Ramesh. Through no fault of his own, he is now 30% less cool.

PS: His real names are not Ramesh or Patel. However, I did think his surname was Thimmashetty.

PPS: Things that Bry judges to be cool do not, in fact, tend to be cool.

Leave a Reply

